## MINUTES OF THE COMMUNITY PRESERVATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE OCTOBER 27, 2011

The meeting was called to order at 6:32 by Chairwoman Lopes. Present were: Jane Lopes, Maureen Franco, David Maddigan, David Thomas, Mark Belanger, Lauren Bell, Josephine Ruthwicz, and Frederick Eayrs. Absent: Michael Maddigan

The first item of business was a report from Jane Lopes concerning the joint meeting held with the Selectmen to determine the length of terms of the "at large" members. They are as follows: Mark Belanger (one year term) Maureen Franco (one year term)

Frederick Eayrs (two year term) Mike Maddigan (two year term)

Mr. James Thomas, speaking as a concerned citizen, was recognized and proceeded to voice his concern over the seating of Josephine Ruthwitz as a member, stating that as an employee of the Housing Authority and an appointed member of the Housing Authority Board, she is ineligible to serve. He also called into question any and all votes taken by the committee if Ms. Ruthwitz tenure was ruled to be improper.

Since Mr. Thomas previously voiced this opinion on a local radio program, Ms Ruthwitz indicated that she had already sought an opinion from DOR, the controlling State agency, and would be guided by their decision.

It was the consensus of the Committee members to wait until an opinion from DOR was rendered to contemplate any further action.

Mr. Thomas went on to state that in his opinion Board members Lauren Bell and Mike Maddigan should resign from the Committee since they did not own property in the town. Mr. Eayrs reminded Mr. Thomas that any attempt to limit individual civic involvement based on ownership of property was in fact illegal.

The Committee then discussed the Application Form drafted by the Town of Dartmouth for preservation funding under the CPA. It was agreed that this was a good starting point for us and that this form should be further discussed during the training session posted for November 2<sup>nd</sup>.

Mark Belanger then reviewed the progress he has made on developing a Community Preservation Advisory Committee website. He stated that the goal of the site should be to get the necessary information out to the public in a clear, concise format, which would also feature natural and historic assets of the town. Once the Committee started its work, projects in progress could also be featured. Mark further stated that the site would be constructed so that anyone could do the periodic updating of information. The website would also contain downloadable forms, meeting agendas and minutes. Jane indicated that the Town website should have a link to the Committee website. This should be in the form of a listing on the Town homepage. The CPA link is now run through the Assessors site.

Mark then asked for a motion authorizing a Committee email address which will collect information for distribution to Committee members. The motion was made by Dave Thomas and seconded by Ted Eayrs. The motion carried, Jo Ruthwitz abstaining

Dave Thomas also made a motion to appoint Mark Belanger webmaster. This motion was seconded by Ted Eayrs. The motion carried, Jo Ruthwitz abstaining

Chairwoman Lopes then called for a motion to adjourn. The motion was made, seconded, and carried, Jo Ruthwitz abstaining.

Ted Eayrs Acting Secretary